Progressions

pie chart

jobs-2.pngjobs.png

1.     Developing your Knowledge  

Provide Evidence on your blog of ALL the following progression routes for each one write a mini reflection exploring how suitable this progression route might be for you:

 

5 University courses that might interest you

  • commercial photography:

Work on real industry challenges, building the skills to respond to client briefs – from concept through to pitch and delivery. Explore still life, food, product, portrait, beauty, fashion, location, lifestyle, documentary, interiors and architecture in both still and moving image.

Music BA (Hons):

  • Audio Cultures and Critical Theory
  • Composition Studies: The Elements of Music
  • Performance Studies: Self and Sound
  • Core Music Practice
  • Music Technologies
  • Contemporary Techniques

Film Making MA:

  • Practical and theoretical understanding of film making will be advanced
  • internationally renowned lecturers and award winning film makers
  • industry standard equipment
  • on-campus film studio
  • requisite post-production software

Audio Visual Engineer:

  • Looking for a graduate with a keen interest in the Audio Visual Sector
  • full time position looking to create this trainee AV engineering role
  • working alongside some of the experienced team and learning from some of the very best in the industry
  • AV installation, Rack Build integration within the rack build facility at the branch.

2 Work Experience/Placement Schemes that might interest you

One Voice Media & PR:

  • A week long placement
  • Summer unpaid internships
  • University course placements

BBC:

  • see how we work at the BBC.
  • Range of genres including Arts, Science & History, Drama, Factual and Entertainment
  • Get first-hand experience of news production and the programmes produced by BBC World Service and TV Current Affairs.
  • Get involved with national radio stations like Radio 1 and 1Xtra.
  • Business support – technology, finance, business or marketing

1 Apprenticeship place that might interest you

Level 3 Digital Marketing Apprentice:

PPC Management:

  • Setting up Google Ads accounts and campaigns
  • Installing conversion tracking codes
  • Optimising campaigns for best results
  • Display and search

Server Management

  • Domain management
  • Provisioning servers
  • DNS
  • Creating WordPress installations

Social Media Campaigns

  • Creative imagery
  • Scheduling campaigns
  • Using conversion tracking (Facebook Pixel)
  • Posting on behalf of customers

 

 

Other career progression routes that interest you

Casual work such as bar work, restaurants, retail etc

 

 

ð     IF YOU ARE APPLYING FOR WORK/APPRENTICESHIPS/PLACEMENT add your cover letter and an up to date Media CV

 

I’m not applying for uni as I just want to go into work after college. Also after searching for apprenticeships the only ones I could find were aimed more towards digital marketing and finance.

 

 

audit

Evidence of Applicationsdoc martins job

 

av job

 

 

 

Show Reel

 

 

 

PPP1

For my experimental film idea I would like to base an experimental film on a bizarre dream I had about being chased by two werewolves and trying to fight them off and eventually being saved by a wizard who’s son’s back garden I was hiding in. I plan to make this experimental piece more weird than the actual dream was itself to make it an experimental rather than recreate it. Doing this gives me space to create bizarre visuals that tell the story and show why this dream was so weird.

The purpose of this experimental film was to create something eerie and strange. I wanted see where I could go with the symbolism and representation with the visuals.

I will film in a dark setting and use minimal lighting with me as the silhouette character resembling the wizard. I will also show a wolf like puppet for the effect of the werewolves chasing the main character and shadows of claws. For audio I will use the an ambient humming sound and an occasional sound effect of footsteps being sped up to sound like running that doesn’t sound quite right (as if hearing it in a dream to make it more uncomfortable).

 

Finished Product

 

 

PPP2

For my ppp2 I have decided to make another experimental video to further my ability to make them as I enjoy the artistic style of them. The reason I have chosen to do another experimental is because my last one in ppp1 went completely wrong and turned out quite bad.

 

By creating new ideas and having other creative visions there is more room for creativity. I will be making an experimental short film about reflecting, reminiscing and feeling detached. This is inspired by the feeling I get in some social situations when my mind wanders and suddenly I don’t feel like I want to be there anymore. This makes me think of other good times I’ve had and wish that I was in one of those times or that I was at least enjoying the one I’m in.

 

For this project I don’t think I’ll need to do any research because it’s art and the ideas I have when working on a piece of art are usually moments of inspiration not taken from any other source and I’ve been inspired to create this film by recently experiencing it’s meaning. For a piece like this I don’t really know how I’d plan with paperwork because it’s an experiment so I’d have to play with the idea while filming and editing to see how I can make the right visual and audio.

 

 

Finished Product

 

 

Critical Reflection

Over the progressions unit I have struggled to keep up with all the other pieces of work we had to do at the same time getting in the way of each other. With PPP1 & 2 I discovered that I enjoy making experimental films as I have been getting into the artistic style that lets you play with deep thoughts and profound feelings by showing strange visuals and applying unsettling music sometimes in reverse (like the violin music in Watching Time Go Backwards). I’m happy with the way my progressions unit turned out and now at least I know where I can go from here. My set goals were to continue applying for jobs and not go to uni as I feel I’m ready to leave education (being in college at the age 20) and I feel like this brief proved that I could could’ve done exactly that.

Leave a comment